Breaking News

PHOTO: Emotions Flow at AMVCA 2016

•From left: Adesua Etomi, Daniel K Daniel, Stephanie Linus, Wangi Mba-Uzoukwu, Regional Director, Africa Magic, West Africa and Yolisa Phahle, CEO Mnet and Kemi Lala Akindoju after the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Award held at Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island ... at the weekend

It was an emotional instant for Nollywood actress and filmmaker Stephanie Linus as her movie, Dry, was referred to Best Overall Movie at the crisp Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards held at the Eko Hotel and Suites, Victoria Island, last Saturday.

The ceremony, which held yesterday hosted the who-is-who in the Nigerian movie industry.

The ceremony kicked off at about 4pm with a red carpet which was graced by some of Nollywood’s finest. After all the razzmatazz of the red carpet, guests were soon settled in to witness what has come to be regarded as one of the most prestigious award ceremonies in Africa.

From the keenly contested to the not so prominent categories, the award ceremony had a surprise for the crowd that turned out to witness it.

But it wasn’t just about movies, the AMVCA 2016 also paraded the best of music, interspersed with comedy from artistes drawn from all over Africa. Highlife crooner, Flavour N’abania and his Nigerian counterpart, Yemi Alade were among the artistes whose performances kept the audience on their feet. Yemi Alade, together with her dancers added energy and the much needed verve necessary for an event of such nature.

As the award categories were reeled out, it was clear the movie lovers were in for a surprise. Although, it wasn’t quite unexpected for Funke Akindele’s Jenifa’s Diary to clean out the Best Actor in a Comedy (Folarin Falana) and Best Actress in a Comedy (Funke Akindele) categories.

What was really surprising was the relatively unknown Daniel K Daniel clinching the Best Actor in a Drama for his role in A Soldier’s Story, beating the likes of Mike Ezuruonye, Majid Michael, Van Vicker, Segun Arinze and Blossom Chukwujekwu to the game.

Another category that left guests wondering was the Best Actress in a Drama which was won by Adesua Etomi for her role in Falling. Etomi took down big wigs in the industry; Genevieve Nnaji (Road to Yesterday), Mary Lazarus (Don’t Cry for Me), Belinda Effah (Stop), Fulu Mugovhani (Ayanda) and Nse Ikpe-Etim (The Visit) to emerge winner.

Another very emotional moment for attendees was the moment when tribute was paid to Nollywood’s fallen heroes. Among those honoured were Peter Bunor, Mufatau Sanni, Tosin Badmus, Prioye Sokunbi, Mike Odiachi, Olumide David, Saleh AGM, Aisha Dankano, and Benson Wanjau.

More emotions poured in when the moment came to present the 2016 AMVCA Legendary Merit Award. The award went to Bukky Ajayi and Sadiq Daba, both veterans of repute. Sadiq was not around to receive his award, but Bukky Ajayi who made it to the ceremony had to be wheeled in.

“There are some of you that I might have offended; please forgive me. There are some people who offended me, I have forgiven you. Thank you very much. I am very happy, from the bottom of my heart. Do not mind that I am crying. I do wish to stand up, but if I stand up, I will fall down. You all standing for me? Thank you very much. I am very grateful and I feel very honoured,” a tearful Ajayi said, rounding her speech up with the peace sign to the applause of the audience.

Among other winners at the prestigious award were Akin Omotosho (Best Director), Trail Blazer Award (Kemi ‘Lala’ Akindoju), Best Movie (West Africa) – Genevieve, Chinny Onwugbenu and Chichi Nwoko (Road to Yesterday), Best Art Director, Frank Rajah (The Refugees); Best Television Series, Ariyike Oladipo (Daddy’s Girls); Best Short Film or Online Video, Oluseyi Amuwafo (A Day With Death), Best Lighting Designer, Stanley Ohikhuare (Common Man); Best Cinematographer, Paul Michaelson (Tell Me Sweet Something);  Best Sound Editor, Jose Guillermo (Dry) and Best Picture Editor (Shirley Frimpong-Manso, Rebecca).



No comments:

Post a Comment

Powered by Blogger.